SURFING WALK OF FAME 2018 NOMINATE NOW!



The Surfing Walk of Fame recognises and celebrates the outstanding achievements of Australia's leading surfers and surf life savers. A prestigious and sought-after award, inductees are highly regarded as 'Legends of Surf' – water men and water women.

The surfers and surf lifesavers inducted into the Australian Surfing Walk of Fame will have a bronze plaque in recognition of their efforts laid on the promenade at Maroubra Beach.

The winner will be announced at the Beach Breaks Carnival on Sunday 29 July 2018 at 1pm.

Nominations close Tuesday 12 June 2018.

Contact events@randwick.nsw.gov.au or call (02) 9093 6792. For more information and to nominate online, visit www.randwick.nsw.gov.au



SELECTION CRITERIA

NOMINATION CRITERIA

Nominee must have won a *World Class surfing* or *Surf Life Saving* championship AND/OR made a significant contribution to the sport.

A local Maroubra person will be considered at each event. An individual who either began their surfing/ surf life saving career at Maroubra or who currently resides, trains or is strongly affiliated with a local surfing association or surf club.

There is no set number of inductees.

To preserve the high standard of inductees, the selection committee reserve the right to not induct nominated individuals.

NOMINATION PROCESS

Randwick City Council will administer the annual nomination and selection process.

Council will organise a meeting of the Selection Committee and provide the nominees names and biographies/supporting information for the committee's consideration.

Local, state and national surf riders associations are invited to nominate each year.

The general public will also be invited to nominate each year with advertising of this process via Council's website and local media.

SELECTION COMMITTEE

The Selection Committee will be a panel of representatives from the Surfing and Surf life saving industry and will include the the Mayor of Randwick. The Committee will meet to review the nominations and select inductees for that year.

To be successful as an inductee, nominees must receive at least 75% of the Committee vote.

The Council will contact the agreed inductees to invite them to the induction ceremony.

INDUCTEES

2006

Snow McAlister Outstanding contribution to surfing

Nat Young World Surfing Champion

Midget Farrelly World Surfing Champion 1964

Barry Rodgers Australian Ironman Champion 1967, 1968, 1969

2009

Dennis Heussner OAM Captain Australian Surf Life Saving Team 1970-1971

Karla Gilbert World Ironwoman Championship 2000-2002

Larry Blair 2SM/Coca Cola Surfabout Championship 1978

Mark Richards World Surfing Championship 1979-1982

2013

Grant Kenny OAM World Ironman Champion and Outstanding contribution to surf life saving

Tony Seddon Australian Surf Life Saving Champion and outstanding contribution to surfing

Lynette MacKenzie World Surfing Champion

2014

Mark Scott 1980 World Surfing Champion and outstanding contribution to surf life saving

Dennis Green Australian Surf Life Saving Champion

2015

Steve 'Blackie' Wilson Pro surfer, big wave charger and local Maroubra legend

Jessi Miley-Dyer World Junior Champion 2003, 2005, Billabong Pro Maui Champion 2006, World Number 4, WCT 2006-2011

Walter Brown Olympic Bronze Medallist 1956, Australian Surf Ski Champion 1953 & 1956

Ron McKeon Australian Surf Life Saving Champion Cadet Surf 1976, Junior Surf 1977, 1979, Open Surf 1980, Open Belt 1984, Olympian 1980 & 1984

2016

Gordon Merchant AM Founding member – Maroubra Surfers Association & Outstanding contribution to surfing

Jon Donohoe AM Australian Surf Race Champion 1955, 1958, 1959, 1961 Australian Surf Team Representative 1960, 1961, Olympian 1956

Leigh McCleery (nee Habler) First Female Australian Surf Lifesaving Team Captain 1999-2001 Australian Surf Life Saving Team Member 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002 & Olympian 1992

2017

Candice Warner (Neé Falzon) NSW Ironwoman Champion 1999 & 2013, Professional Series Coolum 2012 and outstanding contribution

to Surf Life Saving

Graham 'Johno' Johnson

Australian Surf Life Saving Championships 1966-1975, Olympian 1972 K-2 1000m and outstanding contribution to Surf Life Saving

Kevin Davidson

Competed on World Surfing Tour 1976-1984, established Maroubra Board Riders 1974, local Maroubra surfing mentor and outstanding contribution to surfing

Tony White

Competed on World Surfing Tour 1976-1979, established Maroubra Board Riders 1974, pioneer of pro-surfing & local role model and outstanding contribution to Surfing



Australian Surfing Walk of Fame at Maroubra Beach